I haven’t blogged in a while due to life, well you know, being life… busy, what not.
But tonight, I feel compelled to put some words down and broadcast them to the world.

Adam Yauch of the Beastie Boys passed away today after a battle with cancer. In my musical travels, I unfortunately never had the pleasure of meeting him. Even though I never met him/knew him, his death has hit me a bit harder than the average celebrity.

I grew up with the Beastie Boys and nearly every formative year has a Beastie Boys reference and memory associated with it.

I remember when Licensed to Ill came out in 1986. We had it on cassette tape. ‘Fight For Your Right’ was all over MTV. ‘No Sleep Till Brooklyn’s’ guitar riff was played via air guitar. Many a night in 7th grade, I would stay up listening to it on my pink Walkman rewinding and re-playing ‘Paul Revere’ until I knew every single word. I remember lunchtime at Eich Junior High the beats of ‘Brass Monkey’ blaring out of the hi-fi across the quad.
Paul’s Boutique’s ‘Hey Ladies’ was a favourite with the cowbell and disco video. When Check Your Head came out my senior year in high school, I remember Jeremy pulling his hat down and imitating ‘Whatcha, whatcha whatcha want…’ outside of Marshall’s house.

I met Brian at Lollapalooza ’94 watching the Beastie Boys at Shoreline Ampitheatre. He would later become a serious boyfriend and we would go see them again with Bad Brains at Cal Expo in ’95. I remember driving down 2nd Avenue in Seattle with Stacey in 1998, listening to Ill Communication singing along with Q-Tip in ‘Get It Together’. Having joint listening parties for Lo-Fidelity Allstars ‘How to Operate With A Blown Mind’ and Beastie Boys ‘Hello Nasty’ at a lounge (that I can’t remember the name of) in Seattle when I was Sony College Rep. And even last year in 2011, eagerly anticipating the release of ‘Hot Sauce Committee, part 2’ then going to buy it at Rock a Boom in Leicester.

I can’t think of a band who has seen me through 26 years and is still relevant to my life. And even though I never personally knew Adam Yauch, I will still mourn the loss of someone who has played such an important role of creating a lifetime of memories.

Thank you MCA from downtown Brooklyn, for being part of my life.


