This weekend, we wanted something a bit different to accompany the chilli that Martin whipped up. I instantly thought “Cornbread!”. I couldn’t remember where I put the recipe I last used, so I headed over to Allrecipes. I came across a recipe for Buttermilk Corn Bread by Elizabeth Cooper that had nearly five stars, so I decided to give it a go. I read through a lot of the comments to see what other people thought of the recipe or modified along the way and kept them in mind. Although the original recipe is baked in a cast iron skillet, I wanted individual portions – like cupcakes, but savory and with vegetables – so I could freeze to eat later.

Corn cakes fresh from the oven

My version of Buttermilk Corn Bread goes something like this:

Ingredients:
2 cups cornmeal or coarse polenta
1/2 cup plain flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda (baking soda)
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
1 cup plain yogurt
1 tablespoon melted butter (cooled)
1 cup frozen corn

Preheat the oven to 175˚. Line 12 cup muffin tray with cases.
In a large bowl, combine the cornmeal/polenta, flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
In a separate bowl, beat 2 eggs, then add the yogurt and buttermilk. Whisk until thoroughly mixed. Add the melted and cooled butter and mix again.
Add the egg/buttermilk mixture to the dry ingredients and fold in until just combined. Then add the corn, gently folding again. Do not over beat the mixture.

Pour into the muffin cases just over 3/4 full.

Place into the preheated oven and bake for 20-25 minutes, until golden brown. To test, insert a skewer – if it comes out clean, the cakes are done.

Corn in the mix

The corn adds moisture to what can be a dry muffin. These make a great accompaniment to chili, or just on their own warmed up with a bit of butter.

Corn cakes with chilli

I Love Cake

