Since moving to the UK, I have always been forced (for lack of a better word) to create my own Tex Mex deliciousness. I’m not fond of the El Paso or Discovery brands that line the shelves of the UK supermarkets. Most of those “authentic brands” are made in Denmark, not Texas or Mexico. Thankfully, we are able to source our own ingredients to make as close to traditional Mexican and Tex Mex as possible.

Last night’s meal, while originally going to be tacos, turned into a platter of healthy, tasty goodness: shredded chicken breast (from a leftover roast chicken), homemade black beans, homemade salsa, a tortilla and Total Greek Yoghurt (in lieu of sour cream). The sour cream in the UK is more of a pouring cream vs the sour cream in the states which is set. I find that Total Greek Yoghurt is closer to the US style of sour cream, just as tasty and much healthier.

Tasty Tex Mex

So, not only was our Tex Mex creation good for the waistline, it was also easy to make and easy on the pocketbook.

* I am reviewing Total Greek Yoghurt in a series of posts. I am not being paid to do so, but have been sent the yoghurt free of charge from Total. These views are my own. *

