We didn’t travel much when I was young.  Our longest road trip usually consisted of the 2 1/2 hour drive to the grandparents.  We did go on a Caribbean cruise when I was a teenager, though. That was the first time I’d ever left the country.  Back in the 80’s kids didn’t have passports, they just travelled on their parent’s.  In fact, I didn’t have a passport of my own until I was 24 years old.

I love travelling. The thought of planning an adventure is always exciting.  My son has had a passport since he was 11 months old and has been away to 2 different countries.  He loves new places and understands that different countries speak different languages.

Last summer, Martin’s cousin got married in the Nantes area of France so this gave me the perfect opportunity to plan a French adventure. (I am a closet Francophile…)

Instead of going straight to Clisson/Nantes where the wedding would take place and staying in one area, I decided it would be much more fun to take the train to Paris (I’d never been!) then hire a car and drive along the Loire to our final destination.  This was the best road trip ever!  Mini G was a trooper in the car. For a 3 year old (at the time) he was very well behaved.  It was only when we were exploring he decided to act up.  That was to be expected though.  Old buildings and vineyards weren’t my thing either when I was a small child.

This photo sums up my love of France food, wine and especially the Loire Valley:

La Touriste

I left my heart in the Loire Valley.  I’m already counting the months until I can go back.

Here’s a gallery of our French Summer travels…

La Tour Eiffel

Spooky Notre Dame

Accordion Player
Chateau Chambord
Saumur

mini G vineyard

La Loire

