When I was asked to review Total Greek Yoghurt, this was the first recipe that came to mind. Nigel Slater’s (Pistachio) Yoghurt Cheesecake. I’ve made it a few times and every time it just gets better.

Cheesecake ingredients

As I am on a health kick at the moment, I cut out the pistachios to save a few calories and pennies at the same time. In my opinion, you don’t miss the nuts. This recipe was originally printed in the Guardian as part of a spring menu, but here’s my version:

Yoghurt Cheesecake
Serves 8

What you’ll need:
20 cm pie or cake tin

Biscuit base:
10 digestive biscuits
50 g butter (melted)

Cheesecake filling:
75g butter
75g golden caster sugar
500g mascarpone
2 egg yolks
6 heaped tbsp Total Greek Yoghurt*
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
30g sultanas (or dried cherries) – chopped
50g ready to eat dried figs – finely chopped

Crunch up biscuits until they resemble coarse breadcrumbs. Melt the butter in a small pan and stir in biscuit. Tip into 20 cm pie or cake pan and press down lightly. Refrigerate while you prepare the cheesecake filling.

biscuits crunched

With a hand mixer, cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy, then beat in the mascarpone, egg yolks and yoghurt. Stir in vanilla extract.
With a large spoon, fold in the chopped figs and sultanas until well mixed.
Tip filling onto refrigerated biscuit base and smooth out. This is not meant to be perfectly flat like a baked cheesecake, but more like a creamy topped pie.

Folding fruit
Filling Cheesecake

Finished cheesecake

You can either serve immediately as a pudding or leave to stiffen in the refrigerator overnight.

Dig in

This is an amazing healthy option for traditional cheesecake. You won’t need a topping or coulis. It’s just clean tasty goodness. I can’t wait to dig in.

* I am reviewing Total Greek Yoghurt in a series of posts over the next week. I am not being paid to do so, but have been sent the yoghurt free of charge from Total. These views are my own. *

