A colleague of mine commissioned me to make cupcakes for her daughter’s birthday. I was really nervous as these had to be great. I couldn’t let down the birthday girl. I decided that chocolate cakes would be the way to go, so I reached for my trusty Primrose Bakery Cupcake book.

Only the best chocolate would do for these cupcakes.

I made sure all of the ingredients were at room temperature for proper mixing.

Once the chocolate was melted and cooled, I combined it with the rest of the ingredients. The secret to this recipe is separating the eggs and whisking the egg whites to a fluffy consistency. The batter was mousse-like.

These were one of the best I’ve made (says my husband). I think they were pretty amazing, if I do say so myself!

As my colleague’s daughter is a bit of a tomboy and loves horses, I went with a lavender/chocolate brown combination. I was pretty nervous presenting these as it was my first “paid gig”, but I think the result was a-ok.

