Last weekend I really fancied making a cherry pie.  I hadn’t had much success with homemade pastry in the past, but the alternative of using store bought pastry for a pie didn’t have much appeal. Since I had so much success with the chocolate cake from Eric Lanlard’s Home Bake, I thought I’d give the sweet shortcrust pastry recipe a try.

While the pastry rested in the refrigerator, I put together the cherry filling.  After perusing many recipes, I put my own together with 2 cans of black cherries – drained, some cherry jam we made in the summer, a bit of cornflour, a bit of sugar and a bit of lemon juice and simmered until it was the right taste and consistency.

Success! The pastry came out perfectly. This book hasn’t let me down so far!  Ideally, I would have liked to make a whole cherry pie with a lattice top, but since it’s just the two of us I made individual mini pies so we could have some now and freeze the rest for later.

I’ll make a whole pie with the lattice top one of these days, but I think I’ll have to double the pastry recipe.  Until then, I’ll just enjoy a mini cherry pie with custard… Eat your heart out Mr Kipling!

I had some leftover cherry filling in the fridge and didn’t want it to go to waste.  I referred to many of my cookbooks for inspiration on how I could best use the fruit and decided on a crumble.  This one included ground almonds which will compliment the cherries perfectly.

The recipe said it served 6 so I cut it in half, but still had extra crumble.  I didn’t want that to go to waste so I got out the damsons we’d frozen in the autumn and made a damson crumble.  Economical and tasty! We’ll be set for desserts for a while.


Today’s baking soundtrack:  Rufus Wainwright

