One of my favorite breakfast foods is pancakes. Not the flat things that look like crepes, but proper griddle cakes.  I’m a sucker for a Grand Slam at Denny’s or silver dollars from IHOP, but since moving to the UK, I just can’t seem to get my pancakes right.  I’ll admit, when I live stateside I made my pancakes from a box.  The thing was, it worked.  Aunt Jemima Pancake Mix made really good light fluffy pancakes and her syrup was the perfect compliment.

I am loathe to spend a lot of money on pancake mix from US food suppliers for expats, so I am in search of the perfect pancake recipe.

The one I’ve been reliant on to help me through my pancake fix is Nigella’s recipe from How To Be A Domestic Goddess, but it’s just ok.  I can’t seem to get the texture right with her recipe.

They still make a tasty breakfast, especially paired with the maple syrup direct from Canada’s Costco! Thanks, Uncle Roger!

Through continued practice, I have managed to perfect the technique of flipping them and getting the heat just right. The electric crepe pan comes in handy once again! I will get the recipe right one day, until then… Pancakes anyone?

